Archive

Archive for September 7, 2011

An Observation

...taken from Google images. Seriously, though. This, this right here is evolution, and it's what we need to do.

I was driving to work this morning thinking about the draft. Well, not so much the draft, but just the general concept.

 

Bear received a letter from the government stating that if he doesn’t get his shit together and sign some papers saying he’s chill with being drafted at any given time, they’re going to fine him something like $250,000. For starters, where the hell is a forest animal supposed to get that kind of money? Secondly, I don’t remember being sent such nonsense, though maybe this is because I’m female, and the government only wants able-bodied men to fight wars. Thirdly, if they did want women, too, the joke’s on them, because this whole hip issue totally makes me a bonified cripple from time to time. I even have the cane to prove it.

 

But back to the draft and wars and stuff. One would think that in a society where I can video chat, watch tv shows, play video games, and check my blog stats all at once from my single phone would have evolved beyond war by now. Or, failing that, we’d have freaking robots to do it for us.

 

And there wouldn’t be a need for bazillion dollar fines for government-avoiding bears, and we wouldn’t have thousands of kids overseas right now as I type this dying for some asshole in a suit. Or, excuse me, some assholes in some suits.

 

Bear made an interesting observation the other day as we were driving home from work. We both work in jewelry, so we pay attention to precious metal prices, and for those who aren’t aware, they keep freaking going up. Anyway, he was watching people walk past us on the street with shopping bags, and he said, “Wow, isn’t if funny to think that we’re witnessing the end of the world right now?”

 

At the time, I told him to shaddup and stop being so cryptic, since my income is dependent upon people falling in love and buying gemstones and precious metals, but now I think he had a point. We’re inflated. The country’s inflated. The world’s inflated. And here we are, thinking it’s mighty fine as a society to send our children off to die in unfamiliar countries, while, if we weren’t so damn barbaric and focused on wealth and greed, we could be developing freaking robots to do it for us. And they could be doing that, too. You know, the unfamiliar countries we seem to enjoy invading and bombing. And then we’d just fight each other with robots in space, suddenly come to the realization that it’s idiotic to waste resources in order to send those robots into space, and there wouldn’t be any more war.

 

And no more government letters threatening innocent forest creatures with excessive fines for not signing a form or two.

 

This might be the end of society coming up pretty quickly here. Wouldn’t it be nice to one day say, “Hey, I’m an evolved human being. I’m the top of the food chain, and it’s because I finally realized that intelligence matters. I’ve evolved beyond killing my fellow man, and it feels good!”

Categories: Rants